Last night, I emailed CERA, or at least I tried. I wanted to ask them about whether my building was going to get knocked down after the recent aftershocks, as they have said that more buildings will need to go. I followed the instructions on this page, which say this:

Discuss any questions you have with CERA. You can contact CERA by email demolitionenquiries@cera.govt.nz or phone on 941 8999 or 0800 800 169.

Not five minutes later, a reply. Not the sort I was looking for.

Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:

demolitionenquiries@cera.govt.nz

Technical details of permanent failure:

Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain. We recommend contacting the other email provider for further information about the cause of this error. The error that the other server returned was: 550 550-Invalid recipient <demolitionenquiries@cera.govt.nz>

It should be pretty simple to set up an email address, and to advertise that address to the people you serve. It doesn’t fill you with much confidence for the recovery when simple things like this are getting cocked up.