Last week, I disagreed with Johnny Moore’s column on Moore Roads. While I don’t always agree with him, today I’m back in his camp. This morning’s column is not so much a defense of the Cardboard Cathedral, but a call for a little perspective.

What is sometimes lost in the discussion is that the cathedral is on private land and paid for by private money. I believe the church asked the council for money but didn’t get any.

While you’re free to comment away on the council and Government spending your money, the church is spending its own money on its own project. So whether you or I think it is a waste of money doesn’t matter – it is their money to spend how they want.

You can have an opinion on the Cardboard Cathedral, sure. But don’t expect your background in talkback radio to convince me you know what you’re talking about with architecture and design. 

