So, I don’t really want to do this, but here I am, doing this. I blog here because I care about stuff, because I want to try and raise some awareness of issues that I don’t think the media cover, or give my take on them. I don’t expect anything in return. By day, I’m working on my PhD. It’s been a really hard time for me post-quakes. I lost my flat and my work place. We were out of our building for 23 months, and while the university gave me a 6 month funding extension, that still means I’ve been expected to complete my thesis in 42 months (despite everything that has happened). Long story short, my funding ran out in October last year, and since then I’ve been surviving on the occasional DJ gig, TV appearance, stint in a vineyard, column in the paper. But even that has dried up for the moment. 

I also make / made music. I haven’t done any for a while, though I’d like to do some more once I’ve finished this piece of shit thesis. I’m guess what I’m trying to say is that if you appreciate what I do here, and would like to contribute, you can go over my bandcamp page and drop me some coin there. You’ll get some music, of dubious merit, in exchange. Thanks to the wonders of bandcamp, you can pay as much or as little as you’d like.

Or if you want to pay me to DJ / play a gig / write you a column / appear on your show, I’m open to that too.

Right, now that’s over I can go back to being cynical. 

Cheers,

James

