Archives for posts with tag: electorates

As with the previous post, this is a rough map of where the school closures are on a map of social deprivation in Christchurch. I say rough as the map doesn’t come with roads, so I’ve had to correlate the two. Deprivation data is from 2006, from the Christchurch City Council’s website. Blue is least deprived, yellow is most deprived. It’s pretty easy to see that most of the closures and mergers (which are closures by another name) are in the yellow parts of the city. Even in the closure in the Ilam electorate, they’ve managed to target the one school in the most deprived part of Burnside!

I’ve added an asterix to denote the Aranui cluster, a decision on which was put off today. But remember, they want to merge 5 schools into one, in the poorest part of town.

The N!’s represent new schools, but I can’t put them any where meaningful as we don’t know where they will go at this point.

CLOSURES VS SocioEconomic


Someone asked for a map like this via twitter. It is not the prettiest and it is not the biggest. But it should give you a rough idea of where the closures map out across Christchurch (as well as the reprieves and the new schools). There is a map up on stuff, but it doesn’t show electorates.

I can’t promise it is 100% geographically accurate, but I’ve tried my best.

Closures vs electorates


The big black dots are closures. As you can see, there are actually 4 in National held seats, and three in Labour seats. However, there are far more mergers in the Labour held seats, mainly Christchurch East and Port Hills. The location of the New Schools is indicative, as Rolleston, Rangiora and Lincoln are all off the map. Of the new schools, 4 (West Halswell, Rolleston x 2, Lincoln) are in Selwyn (Amy Adams) and one (Rangiora West) is in Waimakariri. The already announced rebuild of Halswell school is in Selwyn, and the new school at Pegasus is in Waimak.

Update: One of the dots in the Wigram electorate is wrong: Greenpark school is in Selwyn, about 6km from Lincoln. Stuff’s map has it wrong too.


Branston Intermediate (Wigram)

Glenmoor (Central)

Greenpark (Selwyn)

Kendal (Ilam)

Linwood Intermediate (Central)

Manning Intermediate (Wigram)

Richmond (Central)


Burwood with Windsor (East)

Central New Brighton with South New Brighton (East)

Lyttleton Main with Lyttelton West (Port Hills)

North New Brighton with Freeville (East)

Phillipstown with Woolston (Central and Port Hills)

Discovery with Unlimited (Selwyn / Wigram? and Central)


Bromley (Port Hills)

Burnham (Selwyn)

Burnside Primary (Ilam)

Duvauchelle (Selwyn)

Gilberthorpe (Wigram)

Okains Bay (Selwyn)

Linwood Ave (Port Hills)

Ouruhia Model (East)

Shirley Intermediate (Central)

Yaldhurst (Selwyn)

Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Te Whanau Tahi (Wigram)

Te Kura Kaupapa Maori O Waitaha (Port Hills)


* Lincoln (Selwyn)

* Rangiora West (Waimak)

* West Halswell (Selwyn)

* two in Rolleston (Selwyn)